BFA Awards 2023 - British Florist Association

BFA Awards 2023

The BFA Awards has been created to highlight and celebrate all the dedicated and hard working people that make up the floral industry. Its intention is to raise the awareness of our skills, celebrate achievements and create an amazing opportunity to connect to the public.

Year on year this awards ceremony has grown and become an eagerly anticipated event. Each category has its own set of criteria for entry and the winners marks are made up of a panel of industry experts as well as public vote. It truly represents the best of the best and we are proud to showcase the work of all involved.


The Categories

  • Katie Weekes – Moreton Morrell College
  • Charlie Tribe – The Floristry School, Sheffield College
  • Allan Raby, East Durham College – East Durham
  • Fiona Davis, Reaseheath College – Cheshsire
  • Jade Loftus, Doncaster College – South Yorkshire
  • Jo Cullingworth, Doncaster College – South Yorkshire
  • Jo Richards, Academy of Floristry – Dorset
  • Melissa Pauley, Capel Manor College – Middlesex
  • Peter Walkey, Kingston Maurward College – Dorset
  • Sarah Hughes, Wigan and Leigh College – Lancashire
  • Shelley Jefferson, Capel Manor – Middlesex
  • Sherry Suett, CAFRE – County Antrim

  • Academy of Floristry – Dorset
  • Bicton College – Devon
  • Capel Manor College – Middlesex
  • Doncaster College – South Yorkshire
  • Kingston Maurwood – Dorset
  • Chickney Hall Flowers – Essex
  • Crossland Flower Nursery – West Sussex
  • Floral Media – Nottinghamshire
  • Marginpar – Aalsmeer

  • Details Flowers Software
  • Florist Pro
  • Strelitzia Software
  • The Paper Studio
  • Floralbox Packaging – Galway
  • Flourish Trading- Mitcham
  • OASIS® Floral Products UK – Washington
  • Westflor UK Ltd – Enfield
  • Whittington’s -Leicester
  • Whittington’s – Waltham Cross

  • Direct2Florist
  • Florismartdirect
  • Van der Plas

  • Flowervision, Chorley – Lancashire 
  • J Van Vliet, Derby – Derbyshire
  • J Van Vliet, Northampton – Northamptonshire
  • The Flower Bank, Carlisle – Cumbria
  • Tom Brown Wholesale, Lee – London
  • Cloud Hill Flowers, Chelmsford – Essex
  • Forget me not florist, Lymington – Hampshire
  • Karen Barnes Weddings and Events, Lincoln – Lincolnshire
  • Norris Floristry, Glossop – Derbyshire
  • Paula Rooney Ltd, Basingstoke – Hampshire
  • Perfect Petals UK, Evesham – Worcestershire

  • Bromborough Flowers, Brombrough – Merseyside
  • Chelsea Flowers, Wilmslow – Cheshire
  • Flowers at no 10, Glasgow – Lanarkshire
  • Flowers by Karen, Kilmarnoch – Ayrshire
  • Fresh Ideas Florists, Chesterfield – Derbyshire
  • Hannah Burnett Florist Ltd, Plymouth – Devon
  • Jolies Fleurs, Thornbury – Bristol
  • Passion flowers, Dumfries – Dumfries & Galloway
  • The Rose Garden, Great Dunmow – Essex
  • Victoria Bloom, Crieff – Perth and Kinross

Your Awards Evening Hosts

Chris Price is a distinguished figure in the floristry industry, rooted in a rich heritage that spans over a century of trading. He hails from a long-established family-run floristry business in London that’s bloomed for over 100 years. Chris’s passion for the industry is unflinching, and it’s this that draws him out of bed each morning, ready to create, inspire, and lead.

He has been deeply embedded in the industry, serving as a regional representative, board director, and demonstrator for Interflora.

Chris’s skill and creativity have seen him demonstrate at the prestigious Chelsea Flower Show on behalf of the Royal Horticultural Society. His prowess in the field is further evidenced by numerous demonstrations he has done for the NAFAS.

In 2011, Chris took his career to new heights by joining Eflorist, where his dedication and leadership have seen him rise to his current role as Head of Operations for the UK, Ireland, and Norway. His journey with the company has been marked by consistent growth and commendable achievements.

Chris is eagerly looking forward to sharing his experience and expertise with his fellow floristry enthusiasts. He is particularly excited about partnering with Nikki for the British Florist Association (BFA) awards.

Nikki Meader is holds our current BFA Chair position.

With many years worth of family connections to the floristry industry, she owns and runs West malling Flowers in West Malling.

After winning retail shop of the year twice, Nikki joined the BFA board as a new challenge and a way to give back to the industry, initially focusing on the position of Retail Director before becoming Vice-Chair, followed soon after by the Chair position.

The Industry Awards has always been a passion for Nikki, as it highlights all the sectors who are important to maintain a healthy business environment for floristry within the UK.

Nikki states “It’s important we all recognise each other and celebrate together in our success. The awards are about motivating our industry to connect with their customers and engage in a fun and advantageous way. The public voting heightens the floristry industry presence in the public awareness and gives an indication of customer satisfaction whilst the Judges use their industry expertise to look at their amazing businesses overall. It’s a joy to see the friendships and networking over the months and on the night!”

Nikki is proud to host with Chris Price and reveal the winners in October!


17th May – Nominations open 12pm

20th June – Nominations close 5pm

21st June – Verification begins

19th July – Shortlist announced 12pm

7th August – Submissions and Applications must be completed and submitted for relevant categories 5pm

9th August – Voting opens and Judging begins 12pm Public voting (one per person). An international panel of industry leaders & professionals will judge in each category, their marks will be averaged to find the judges favourites based on the submission criteria.

21st September – Judging closes 12pm.

26th September – Finalists announced 12pm Public votes are combined with judges votes to find the winner.

14th October – Winners announced at Industry Awards Evening

The awards evening will take place Saturday 14th October at the BFA Awards ceremony held at:

Burleigh Court,
Off Ashby Road (A512),
Loughborough University (West Park),
Loughborough, Leicestershire,
LE11 3GR

What3words: ///

Nikki Meader, Chair of the BFA, acts as moderator and checks all the marks after the voting and judging finishes.

Get the latest updates delivered directly to your Inbox!